“It is necessary … for a man to go away by himself … to sit on a rock … and ask, ‘Who am I, where have I been, and where am I going?”

Carl Sandburg

Self-reflection seems to come during “down” times. Periods of feeling down can harbor questions of why? In my case, a lot of times these periods occur due to the physical training I put myself through. Certain periods are tough. It physically depresses you. The easy thing to do is feel bad for yourself and blame yourself.

A better way is to reflect on the positives in the past 2 months and be grateful for all that has come your way. What have you accomplished instead of what you didn’t. What have you succeeded with instead of what you failed at. What lessons you learned instead of the mistakes made.

Take time to reflect. Breathe. Meditate. Carve out time because it is important for your mental health.

Trust me, don’t put these things off.

Leave a Reply

