Week of September 13th – September 18th

Book:

CEO Strength Coach by Ron McKeefrey

Halfway through Coach McKeefrey’s book I am happy I purchased it. Coach McKeefrey’s content, podcast (Iron Game Talk Chalk), and wisdom has been a wealth of information for me. I have become better through his Strength Coach Basic Training Course and knew that this book would be a must read. Countless coaches have recommended it as well. Get your hands on it!

Habit:

After 6-8 weeks of Max Shank’s push-up and squat 8 minute ritual, I’ve decided to move in a different direction.

After a “hangover” of sorts after National Guard Drill and the PT Test, I realized the ritual I performed in the morning (push ups and squats) needed to be replaced. The progression is to go back to reading right away in the morning. Last spring I read 15 books in 6 weeks. With an hour each morning this ritual of reading will help expand my foundation in different disciplines.

The physical ritual in the weight room is the following:

100 face pulls – 100 pull aparts – 100 back raises – 50 reverse hypers 

Band Face Pull

Band Pull Apart

Back Raise

Reverse Hyper

This training ritual will allow me to grow the strength in my back – remember:

“Don’t ask for a light load, but rather ask for a strong back.”- Unknown

Weight Room Tool:

ROGUE Reverse Hyper

Same video as above showing Mark Bell from Supertraining.tv on behalf of ROGUE Fitness explaining the how to’s and why’s.

YouTube Video:

“George Leeman takes Mark Bell and Silent Mike through his deadlift setup and throws out a bunch of useful tips that you can use in your own deadlift to make it STronger.

Quote:

“The cave you fear to enter holds the treasure you seek”

Joseph Campbell

One of my favorite parts of the week is this Friday “What I’m Loving, Doing, Using, & Reading” because it’s another extrinsic motivator to move me towards learning and doing more. Being intrinsically motivated, it helps to have some extrinsic motivation to push myself further.

I hope you get something out of these. Leave a comment if you do! Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

