It’s a disease. Nobody thinks or feels or cares any more; nobody gets excited or believes in anything except their own comfortable little God damn mediocrity.

Richard Yates

I’d rather die than be mediocre. It’s not fun. I don’t say it to be cute or sound tough.

It’s a way of life.

Mediocrity is a disease that afflicts most of the population and it results in self-induced depression (not everyone that has depression has it because of a genetic or lack of serotonin, etc), disease, existing rather than living, and a host of weak minded things.

I say what I do about depression because I have been “diagnosed” with it before. But I was living a WEAK life. I don’t need drugs to fix me. I needed to LIVE. I needed to stop procrastinating and complaining. I needed to start taking control of my life through deliberate ACTION AND PURPOSE.

I’m not suggesting people are weak if they are depressed/take drugs to help them. I’m saying was weak. And I’m not the only one. It did help me become the person I am because of the struggle to overcome it. It did help me appreciate life a lot more. It helped me become more empathetic towards others and compassionate to my fellow human being.

But for SOME, depression is a result of living a mediocre life. It was for me.

Going through all that has led me to this realization.

I’D RATHER DIE THAN BE MEDIOCRE.

It’s an all or nothing lifestyle. There are exceptions to everything, however. Just 2 days ago I failed to perform my daily ritual. At the end of the day it was laying in front of me. What did I do?

I challenged myself to NOT do the ritual, NOT judge myself, and PICK UP where I left off the next day.

This required a different mindset. But it’s a great opportunity to test and learn about yourself.

FIND THE OPPORTUNITIES IN EACH DAY—IN EACH MOMENT TO BECOME THE BEST YOU.

Leave a Reply

